Photo Book of the Week – Color Dying Light & I Believe You, Liar

Sam Falls – Color Dying Light
First Edition of 500, 2009
Published by Hassla Books
ISBN: 978-0-9800935-9-9

Lucas Blalock – I Believe You, Liar
2009
Published by iceberg, iceberg, iceberg
ISBN: 978-0-615-27054-8

This week I’m featuring two books by Sam Falls and Lucas Blalock (check out their current Solo-Show on the Humble site here).

I picked up Sam’s book a few months ago at my favorite store, Dashwood Books. I’ve always been a fan of Hassla’s publications and was surprised to see this book in person for the first time. Its the largest book they have produced in terms of physical size (9×12″). The book features a small, but very concise and appropriate edit of Sam’s work. It is definitely a book I have been coming back to a lot over the past months.

I got Lucas’ book at an exhibition of his work at Griffin Editions. I had been wanting to buy the book for a while, but was glad I could purchase it directly from him, have him sign it, and see his work in print form all at the same time. This book also features a really nice edit of his work. Most of the images have a “straighter” feel than some of his more recent work, but nonetheless shows off his unique style and was my first real encounter with his work.

Check out more:
samfalls.com
lucasblalock.com

–Grant Willing

Sam Falls - Color Dying Light

Sam Falls - Color Dying Light

Sam Falls - Color Dying Light

Sam Falls - Color Dying Light

Sam Falls - Color Dying Light

Sam Falls - Color Dying Light

Lucas Blalock - I Believe You, Liar

Lucas Blalock - I Believe You, Liar

Lucas Blalock - I Believe You, Liar

Lucas Blalock - I Believe You, Liar

Lucas Blalock - I Believe You, Liar

Lucas Blalock - I Believe You, Liar

Lucas Blalock - I Believe You, Liar

Lucas Blalock - I Believe You, Liar

This entry was posted in Photo Book of the Week and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.