Photo Book of the Week – All my photographs as of 12/17/2009 photocopied in the order they are listed on my website

David Schoerner – All my photographs as of 12/17/2009 photocopied in the order they are listed on my website
Self-Published, 2009
Edition of 20

I got this book from David shortly after he made it, and I was really interested in what something like this would actually turn out like. The book is exactly what the title says, and in turn the results are humorous and kind of mind-boggling. I really love his idea of taking something as ephemeral as an online digital image, photocopying it, and turning it into a staple-bound book. He also plans on making this an ongoing project in which he will create a new book every few months to contain the new imagery added (or possible lack of new imagery) to his site. It is a really interesting concept in terms of preservation and presentation of something like a photograph; what is the proper way of displaying a photo? And does it really matter? I’m not sure if this book is supposed to be taken this seriously, but it definitely has me thinking…

-Grant Willing

See more here: http://davidschoerner.com/

And look out for his upcoming book through Hassla.

This entry was posted in Photo Book of the Week and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

