Photo Book of the Week – Tom Sandberg: Photographs 1989-2006

Tom Sandberg – Tom Sandberg: Photographs 1989-2006
Published by Galleri Riis/Tom Sandberg in collaboration with P.S.1 Contemporary Art Center, 2007
ISBN: 978-82-997275-2-5

I remember going to PS1 to see this show a few years ago and being totally floored by how good it was. I’ve seen a decent amount of good shows, but this one has always stuck out to me as one of the best photography exhibitions I’ve ever seen. For some reason, it took me two years after the show closed to finally get the accompanying catalog and actually see the work in some physicality again. While usually I feel a book is a nice companion to any show and is often the preferred way to see photography, I think this book really only brings up the memories I have of seeing the show in person. The book is still a great object, it is nicely printed and sequenced, but it doesn’t completely live up to the same high standards as seeing his work in exhibition form.

-Grant Willing

This entry was posted in Photo Book of the Week. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

